EWCNM Library

Databases

AcuBriefs
Acubriefs was established wtih a grant from the Medical Acupuncture Research Foundation (MARF). Its purpose is to make available the most comprehensive database of references on acupuncture in the English language. 


AGRICOLA
 (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
Agricola is a bibliographic database of citations to agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, extension and education, and food and human nutrition.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Current public health information on communicable diseases. The Traveler's Health section includes travel advisories for specific geographic regions, disease outbreaks, risks and prevention strategies, plus immunization recommendations. Full-text access to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly reports on communicable disease.

ClinicalTrials.gov
A service of the National Institutes of Health, ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

Daily Med: Current Medication Information
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This website provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database: Brands, Ingredients & References

This site from the National Library of Medicine offers information about label ingredients in more than 3000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the  "structure/function" claims made by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers. Warnings and recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.

DrugDigest.com
DrugDigest is a noncommercial, evidence-based, consumer health and drug information site dedicated to empowering consumers to make informed choices about drugs and treatment options. Their mission is to provide tools to stay informed about the wide variety of medicines on the market today. It combines the resources of pharmacy experts, licensed doctors of pharmacy from leading academic institutions, and Express Scripts staff physicians.

Drug Information Portal- National Library of Medicine
Quick access to quality drug information. Includes links to full text.

Healthfinder.gov
Consumer health information resources developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

IBIDS
The International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements. Users can choose to search the Full IBIDS Database, a subset of Consumer Citations Only or Peer Reviewed Citations Only.

Medline Plus
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine this public site contains many links to information published by government agencies about different health conditions as well as links to organizations, directories, dictionaries, and clearinghouses.

MedTerms
MedTerms is an online medical dictionary containing easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms. This dictionary provides quick access to hard-to-spell and often misspelled medical definitions with an extensive alphabetical listing.

Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products 
This information resource is presented by the Integrative Medicine Service of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. It provides evidence based information about herbs, botanical, supplements and more.

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. PubMed has the ability to link to related articles once you find an article on your topic.

Toxnet
A collection of toxicology and environmental health databases.

Toxicology and Environmental Health
SIS specialized information services provided by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine. This is a comprehensive toxicology and environmental health website.

Traditional Chinese Medicine Information Database
Hosted by the National University of Singapore, this database provides information on all aspects of TCM including formulation, herbal composition, chemical composition, moleculare structure and functional properties, therapeutic and toxicity effects, clinical indication and application, and related literatures.This database currently contains entries for 1197 formulae, 1098 medicinal herbs and 9852 herbal ingredients.

TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) 
This site was started in 1997 by Jon Brassey and Dr. Chris Price to answer clinical questions using the principles of evidence based medicine. The goal of the database is to answer questions in a relevant time frame using the best available evidence. The site includes links to Evidence Based Medicine Articles, Medical Images and Patient Information Leaflets.